What is IOC Refugee Olympic Team?

Refugee Olympic Team
Refugee Olympic Team- Image Source: UNHCR

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) have revealed the list of 29 athletes to represent Refugee Olympic Team at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, representing 11 countries across 12 sports.

In a first, IOC revealed the Refugee Olympic Team at Rio Games in 2016 to raise awareness of the issue.

During the Opening Ceremony of the Tokyo 2020 Games, the Refugee team will enter the brand new Japan National Stadium with the Olympic flag in second position. Also, 29 participants show a significant increase from last edition’s tally of 10 at Rio 2016.

“The participation of the IOC Refugee Olympic Team in the Tokyo 2020 Games, which will be both a festival of sport and a celebration of peace, will draw the world’s attention to the issue of refugees and further advance efforts to achieve world peace through the elimination of the wars and conflicts that cause people to flee their homeland.”

Hashimoto Seiko, President, Tokyo 2020.

The complete list of Refugee Olympic Team is as follows:

Abdullah Sediqi (Afghanistan) – Taekwondo (Men’s -68kg)
Ahmad Baddredin Wais (Syrian Arab Republic) – Cycling (Men’s Road)
Ahmad Alikaj (Syrian Arab Republic) – Judo (Men’s Mixed team)
Aker Al Obaidi (Iraq) – Wrestling (Men’s Greco-Roman -67kg)
Alaa Maso (Syrian Arab Republic) – Swimming (Men’s 50m Freestyle)
Anjelina Nadai Lohalith (South Sudan) – Athletics (Women’s 1500m)
Aram Mahmoud (Syrian Arab Republic) – Badminton (Men’s singles)
Cyrille Fagat Tchatchet II (Cameroon) – Weightlifting (Men’s -96kg)
Dina Pouryounes Langeroudi (Islamic Republic of Iran) – Taekwondo (Women’s -49kg)
Dorian Keletela (Congo) – Athletics (Men’s 100m)
Eldric Sella Rodriguez (Venezuela) – Boxing (Men’s -75kg)
Hamoon Derafshipour (Islamic Republic of Iran) – Karate (Men’s -67kg)
Jamal Abdelmaji Eisa Mohammed (Sudan) – Athletics (Men’s 5,000m)
James Nyang Chiengjiek (South Sudan) – Athletics (Men’s 800m)
Javad Majoub (Islamic Republic of Iran) – Judo (Men’s Mixed team)
Kimia Alizadeh Zenozi (Islamic Republic of Iran) – Taekwondo (Women’s -57kg)
Luna Solomon (Eritrea) – Shooting (Women’s Air Rifle 10m)
Masomah Ali Zada (Afghanistan) – Cycling (Women’s Road)
Muna Dahouk (Syrian Arab Republic) – Judo (Women’s Mixed team)
Nigara Shaheen (Afghanistan) – Judo (Women’s Mixed team)
Paulo Amotun Lokoro (South Sudan) – Athletics (Men’s 5,000m)
Popole Misenga (DR Congo) – Judo (Men’s Mixed team)
Rose Nathike Lokonyen (South Sudan) – Athletics (Women’s 800m)
Saeid Fazloula (Islamic Republic of Iran) – Canoe (Men’s 500m)
Sanda Aldass (Syrian Arab Republic) – Judo (Women’s Mixed Team)
Tachlowini Gabriyesos (Eritrea) – Athletics (Men’s Marathon)
Wael Sheub (Syrian Arab Republic) – Karate (Men’s Kata)
Wessam Salamana (Syrian Arab Republic) – Boxing (Men’s -57kg)
Yusra Mardini (Syrian Arab Republic) – Swimming (Women’s 100m Butterfly)

Tap to know more.