What is ICC World Test Championship?

ICC World Test Championship
ICC World Test Championship- Image Source: Kyro Sports

The 2019-21 ICC World Test Championship (WTC) is the inaugural edition of the World Cup like format for Test Matches. It began with the Ashes Series, 2019.

WTC final is scheduled to take place on June 18 at the Rose Bowl, Southampton. It featured nine test-playing nations, contesting a series of 2-5 matches against each other. Some matches were called off or postponed due to the pandemic.

All in all, 59 matches have been played thus far.

Rather than being a full round-robin tournament in which everyone played everyone else equally, each team played only six of the other eight.

Star Sports, the official broadcaster of the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final, has signed 16 sponsors as live cricket returns after the Indian Premier League (IPL) suspension in India.

“I can only really talk about the time I was around the international game. India have had the likes of Kapil Dev, Javagal Srinath. But I think in the last 20 years would have to be close to their best seam-bowling line-up.”

Brendon McCullum, former Captain, New Zealand.

Tap here to know more.