How ICC is marking the inaugural World Test Championship final?

World Test Championship, Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson
Virat Kohli(R) and Kane Williamson (L)-Image Source: Getty Images

International Cricket Council will induct 10 legends of the game into its illustrious Hall of Fame. Two players each from five eras will join an existing list of 93 of the world’s greatest.

The global cricket body announced a special edition of the Hall of Fame coinciding with the first-ever World Test Championship final.

Hall of Fame’s special edition will be hosted by Alan Wilkins and streamed live on all ICC digital channels.

The special intake will see two players from each of the following five eras:
Early Cricket Era (pre-1918)
Inter-War Cricket Era (1918–1945)
Post-War Cricket Era (1946–1970)
ODI Era (1971–1995)
Modern Cricket Era (1996–2016)

“It is an honour for us to announce a one-time induction of ten cricketing greats into the ICC Hall of Fame to coincide with the first-ever final of the World Test Championship in Southampton,”
“We are celebrating the history of the game and what better way than to honour some of the greats that founded and played the game across different eras. These are all players with a legacy that will continue to inspire future generations for years to come.”

Geoff Allardice, Acting Chief Executive, ICC.

Tap to know more.